HSG Test Scheduled

September 23rd, 2012

I called today to schedule my hysterosalpingogram (HSG) test. This is the only test that does not have to wait until day 3 of my cycle. They scheduled the procedure for October 1st at 11:00 am. I am hoping and praying right now that Aunt Flow (my period) does not arrive early next month. It is scheduled to arrive on October 2nd, and if for some reason she decides to come a day early, I will have to reschedule the HSG test. I really hope we won’t have to reschedule because that will just delay things another week or two. And now that we have started getting the ball rolling on all the Pre-IVF stuff, I really just went to put that all behind us so we can actually start the IVF process.

An HSG test is an X-Ray test that looks at the inside of the uterus and fallopian tubes and the area around them. During a the procedure, a dye (contrast material) is put through a thin tube that is put through the vagina and into the uterus. Because the uterus and the fallopian tubes are hooked together, the dye will flow into the fallopian tubes. In my case, we are expecting the dye not to flow freely because my tubes are shut. The pictures taken during the HSG can show problems to the shape or structure of the fallopian tubes and uterus.  A hysterosalpingogram also may find problems on the inside of the uterus that prevent a fertilized egg from attaching (implanting) to the uterine wall. In my case, since tubal factor is thought to be the only cause for infertility, this test is required to make sure my tubes are now indeed closed. If you have tubal problems and they are dialated or still open, they can cause problems for IVF. The little embryo can float and attach to the inside of the tube, resulting in an ectopic pregnancy, or the tube can leak into the uterus causing a miscarraige. I can’t even imagine going through IVF and having a positive pregnancy result in another ectopic pregnancy. Although I am nervous for the procedure (actually seeing my tubes closed makes it such a reality), I am looking forward to knowing for sure and ruling out the chance that my damn tubes can negatively impact any future pregnancy.

So friends and family, please pray that my period arrives on time this month and not a day early so this test can be performed on the scheduled date. Also, pray that everything looks good during the test and we get the green light to move forward with IVF.

2 thoughts on “HSG Test Scheduled

    • Thanks Mom! Never thought this would be our journey,but embracing it now that it is. Thanks for all your love and support! You have always been there for me through all life’s journeys! Thank you for that! xoxo we love you too!

Leave a Reply

