Vitamins & Getting Healthy

I have been trying really hard this past month to get my body ready for what the next month has in store for it. After tons of research, I have started taking a number of vitamins or supplements that I believe in and love the way they are making me feel. It has almost been 3 weeks since I have cut out all caffeine (including my beloved coffee) and I am feeling more energized and healthier than ever! Here is what I’ve been taking:

  • COQ10 – 300 mg 3x/day — our body uses CoQ10 in a variety of physiological processes including energy production, cell growth, muscle contraction and the production of protein. It’s also an antioxidant that helps to repair free radical damage throughout the body. It also has heart benefits and anti-aging benefits, as well as boost energy, which I have totally experienced! I am not tired at 3:00 every afternoon like I used to be! C0Q10 has been linked to increased fertility and may improve egg quality in women who are trying to conceive.
  • Fish Oil – 1,000 mg — Omega 3 free fatty acid intake has been associated with improved embryo quality.
  • Pre-natal w/400 mg folic acid & DHA–This is pretty much a multivitamin to make sure my body has all the right nutrients for a baby. I have been taking this for about 6 months.
  • Baby Aspirin – 85 mg — thins blood and is believed to increase blood flow to the uterus and ovaries. Doctors recommend baby aspirin especially if you have had miscarriages in the past (we’ve had 3) because it may reduce the risk of small blood clots that can cause miscarriages.
  • Iron – 65 mg — I’ve had anemia all my life, so I take this anyways, but it is especially important to take if pregnant. Studies have also been done to prove that women who took iron supplements had, on average, 40 percent less risk of ovulatory infertility than those who did not.
  • Royal Jelly & Pollen- 650 mg 2x/day — good for egg quality. This is the honey that worker bees create and give for the first 3 days of a larva’s life and it’s given only to the queen bee for her entire life. This exclusive feeding triggers the full development of her ovaries which is needed to lay the millions of eggs she will lay in her lifetime. The Queen matures in 5 days and weighs double that of a worker bee. A worker bee only lives to be 30-45 days old, but the Queen bee lives to be 5 to 6 years old. The queen also lays in one season around 250,000 eggs and in peak season she may lay up to 2000 eggs a day (WOW!). This probably has something, if not everything, to do with the extremely high nutritional content of the Royal Jelly which is this Queen’s exclusive diet. It also, has tons of vitamins and minerals and can mimic human estrogen. Since my estrogen is on the very bottom of the “normal” range, I figure this is a natural way to possibly increase it. Not sure if it will help me produce better eggs…but I figure it most certainly can’t hurt!
  • 1 oz Shot of Wheatgrass 5 x/week — This is noted to decrease your FSH (follicle stimulating hormone). And since mine is 13, almost double what it should be for my age, I am giving wheatgrass a try. Although FSH is known to tell you about your ovarian reserve, it also tells the doctor how much medication you need to be on during stimulation. Since they give you the FSH hormone to produce multiple follicles, if you have a high FSH already, they will have to give you more than the average woman in order to compensate for the high FSH already being produced by your body. I am planning to have my FSH re-tested the next cycle and hopefully if my number has improved, the dose of medication won’t have to be so high (which will translate to less $$$ for the drugs). Wheatgrass also has a TON of vitamins, minerals, essential enzymes and 19 amino acids. And although it tastes terrible…it does make me feel healthier and more energized!

Here are a few other things I am doing to prepare my body:

  • High protein diet- I am trying to eat lots of eggs, meat, nuts which is good to beef up uterine lining.
  • I have cut out all caffeine and artificial sweeteners — It has been 3 weeks now since I said goodbye to my coke & coffee. The good news, it wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be. I have replaced my morning coffee with decaf-green tea. And although I had quite a headaches the first 3 days, I am loving my tea in the mornings now.
  • I am drinking at least 1-2 glasses of milk/day.
  • I am drinking 72 oz of water a day. This was so hard for me at first because I never drink water. Sometimes I’d go days without remembering the last time I had a glass of water. I had to force myself to drink 72 oz the first week or so, but now it has become second nature. I have a large 36 oz water jug that I jest keep with me throughout the day. I know that I have to drink 2 of those, so it makes it easy to stick to my goal.
  • Be more active – I am trying to make a conscious effort to get outside and exercise more. And although lots of exercise is not good for trying conceive, a little is beneficial. I am just trying to make sure I get my heart rate and more importantly, blood circulating, at least once a day. Whether that means throwing the ball for my Charlie & Cooper, taking them on a walk, heading to the batting cages with Mr. B or little man, or playing and running at the park, I am just trying to consciously be more active.

Not sure if any of this will actually do what my research has pointed to…but either way, just trying to do everything in my power to make sure my body is healthy and ready for a baby and for the stress that IVF will put on it. Only God can bless us with a baby, but I can sure as heck make sure I am preparing my body for that little blessing!

2 thoughts on “Vitamins & Getting Healthy

  1. Hi there!

    Thank you for blogging about your experience – I really appreciate hearing about what you’ve been through because my husband and I are going through the same thing! We are about to begin our first round of IVF and I am taking these same vitamins as well. I was wondering, did you take all of these during your two week wait after IVF? I want to make sure not to take anything that I shouldn’t during that time and wanted to see if I could get your thoughts on it since your IVF was successful! Congrats on your pregnancy!!!

    • Hi dpearson,
      Thank you so much for stopping in and saying hi. I am so sorry to hear that you and your husband are finding yourself on the road to IVF. It has been one of the hardest, yet most rewarding journeys I have ever found myself on. During the 2ww, I continued to take my prenatal vitamin with folic acid & DHA, the 85 mg of baby aspirin, as well as the iron (for my anemia). Other than that, I discontinued taking the rest since the COQ10, fish oil, and royal jelly were really only taken as an attempt to improve egg quality. After the eggs were retrieved, I discontinued these three, along with the wheatgrass shot. I hope that helps!

      I wish you and your husband the best of luck during your upcoming IVF. Let me know if you have any other questions at all regarding the process…or just need someone to talk to. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers, praying that the first round will bring you that sticky little miracle baby.

Leave a Reply

