A Stockpile of Hope

Those who know me well, know that I am an avid couponer. I love to get a good deal on things and hate paying full price for ANYTHING! I haven’t always been like this, I mean I worked for Nordstrom for almost 10 years…and never  even batted an eyelash when I’d drop a few hundred on a new pair of designer jeans. Don’t get me wrong…I can still spend like the best of them…I just like, and get a sort of rush, from getting a good deal on something. Call it old age, call it being responsible, call it being a better steward with the money God has blessed us with…whatever the reason, something shiften in me a few years ago and I have never been (or shopped) the same.

I mostly use coupons to save money on our groceries,  toiletries, and personal hygiene, and have cut our monthly budget for these items in half since I started couponing. It’s a lot of work, but once you see the savings…it’s totally worth it! I have also built quite a nice stockpile of items that we always use, so that we are not stuck running out to pay full price for an item if we suddenly run out. By preparing in advance for my family’s needs, we end up saving a ton of money!

according to free dictionary.com, here’s the definition of a stockpile:

stock·pile n.
A supply stored for future use, usually carefully accrued and maintained.

tr.v. stock·piled, stock·pil·ing, stock·piles

To accumulate and maintain a supply of for future use.
 
* Disclaimer: In case you have ever watched Extreme Couponing on TLC…that show is totally staged for the shock-and-awe factor. Real couponers don’t shop like that! And those stockpiles they have, yeah, mine’s nothing like that. Don’t judge…I’m not a hoarder….mmmkay! * End Disclamer
 
Well, I haven’t only been stockpiling food and toiletries, but I’ve started stockpiling baby things as well. Mostly diapers, wipes, and a few uni-sex toys. I started buliding my stockpile of diapers & wipes about 2 years ago when I found I was pregnant the first time. Unfortunately, that one, and the following 3 pregnancies, ended in miscarraige (with the last being an ectopic). So, I have slowly and steadily been able to build my stockpile with the hope that someday we will use it. Now, the only time I buy and add to my stock is if I can get a crazy good deal on the diapers and wipes. If I can get a pack of diapers for under $3.99 (by using sales, rewards and coupons) I pick up a couple packs. My buy now price for wipes is anything under $0.99. As you can see, I’ve run into these prices quite a few times over the past 2 years. Here’s a pic of my guestroom (future nursery) closet and current stockpile of baby items. I call it – “my stockpile of hope”. Pretty much because I hope it comes in handy someday. Hopefully in about 10 months :-).
 
 
The stockpile of baby items also comes in handy if I have a friend having a baby or have a shower to attend. Knowing that I got a great price on the diapers & wipes makes it easy for me to pass along a pack or share with my friends or neighbors who could use a little extra help. I’ve given away so many over the years…and I LOVE doing it! However, no matter how much I love giving them away, I am really hoping that this is the year we’ll finally get to use them ourselves!
 
8 thoughts on “A Stockpile of Hope

  1. Hi! Its Jeanna. (from anotherivfblog.blogspot.com). You are so sweet to reach out! I actually had bookmarked your blog to read too! I looked into the same ivfmeds.com, but was sketched out by them even tho I have heard some people haven’t had an issue. I actually had an issue with my meds order this week and they are on the same coast as me! I just blogged about it b/c as you know it is all part of the story! Lets do this!!!

    • Thanks Jeanna! Just read your post. Gah, this process can be so stressful sometimes, huh?! Hoping that it will all be worth it in the end for both of us!!! Can’t wait to continue following your journey 🙂

  2. Awwww bear I just LOVE everything about you !! And I LOVE that you are so prepared , I just know the lord will bless you and your faithfulness = )

    • Thanks Colie! How funny…cause I totally LOVE everything about you too! We’ve been waiting on this baby for quite a while…so I’ve had lots of time to prepare. Thanks for always checking in on me and having someting perfectly positive and supportive to say. xoxo

  3. That is awesome that you are preparing and getting ready. I just know you’ll definitely be using them come 2013! Then your baby shower can be full of “fun stuff” since you have the basics, LOL!

  4. “Stockpile of Hope” LOVE that! You are going to be set once your baby arrives, so don’t go giving it all away at those baby showers, because you’re going to need them soon! I also love a good deal, and I love giving away coupons to other people while at a store if I have extras. People get SO excited if you hand them a coupon for $30 off in a store at the mall or $25 at dinner. I love that you are so open to helping others, even amidst your own struggles to conceive. That says A LOT about the kind of person you are. 🙂

    • Thanks Emily! I love that you are a fellow “coupon fairy” too. I often clip coupons from the Sunday paper that I know I’m not going to use and leave them on top of the products in the grocery store. I’ve seen people get so excited when they go to grab an item off the shelf that they have on their shopping list and there is a $1/1 coupon attached to it. Not quite as big as a $25 off dinner coupon…but man…saving a dollar here and there totally adds up after a while! I also love to hand people coupons in line for items I see in their cart. They probably think I am a stalker as I check out and inventory their cart as we wait in line…but then they are so STOKED when I hand them a couple coupons and save them a few bucks. The smiles are priceless. Best feeling ever!

      I’ve been thinking about you a lot this week as you are nearing the end of your 2ww. Can’t wait to here the good news from you any day! Sending prayers, thoughts, and positive vibes your way!

Leave a Reply

