Lots O’ Drugs!

Well, it’s finally here. I am the proud new owner of over $3,000 worth of IVF drugs. Everything arrived on time and the order had everything it was supposed to. Thank God! Now it is just chillin’ in my fridge waiting to get put to use. Hopefully it does it’s job and gets us to our baby. Oh yeah, and the small-ish bag to the left, looking all innocent there…only contains about 30 needles. And the white boxes in the upper right, more needles. I’m skeered!!!!

Here’s what my order included:

Gonal-f & Menopur – These are the crucial injections that will be used to stimulate my ovaries, hopefully producing LOTS of healthy and mature eggs.

HCG – This will be used to “trigger” and get my eggs to go through the last stage of maturation, before they can be retrieved. Timing this shot is vital (my doc will let me know exactly what time to take it). If it’s given too early, the eggs will not have matured enough. If given too late, the eggs may be “too old” and won’t fertilize properly.

Endometrin – This is an Estrogen supplement. Estrogen is crucial to helping maintain the endometrial lining of the uterus.

Medrol & Docycycline – These are antibiotics that will be taken right before and after ER (Egg Retrieval) to prevent infection.

Cetrotide –  This is used to prevent premature ovulation. In the early days of IVF, before medications to prevent ovulation were available, about 25% of IVF cycles would be cancelled for premature ovulation.

Bag-O-Needles – Used to prick myself over and over again to inject Gonal-f & Menopur, while causing bruising, bloated-ness, and soreness all around.

My baseline appt is scheduled for 11/27 at 10:45 am. This is where they will do blood work, an ultrasound, a shot injection class, we will pay a small fortune for our cycle, sign a bazillion consent forms, and actually get started! Then, as long as everything comes back a-ok with my ultrasound and bloodwork, I will start medication and injections that night. That’s only 8 days away! Getting so nervous and so excited! Eeekkk 🙂

6 thoughts on “Lots O’ Drugs!

  1. I love the frame around the photo!! Haha! Way to make it classy lady! But, really! It is so exciting to get those drugs and know the ultimate prize! Excited for you!!

    • Thanks Jeanna! Yes, I never thought I’d be so excited to get a box full of meds and syringes!!! The “ultimate prize” like you said (love that by the way) is all I have my eyes and heart set on right now! Excited for you too. Love that I can go through this journey with others who understand it all.

    • Thanks! I am excited (and oh-so-nervous) to get started too! Sure hope you’re right. To have it be successful the first time, would be such an amazing blessing 🙂 Thanks for your support! And I’ll totally print this one out for the baby book, lol…great idea!

  2. You have every reason to be excited! I know it’s probably intimidating to see all those needles, but all I ever hear from women is that they don’t even hurt! Wishing you the very best. You are setting yourself up for the best chances possible and that IS very exciting!!!

    • Thanks Emily! Just so much riding on this one chance…so it can be quite intimidating. And then you throw the needles in and all the instrucions on how to mix and administer the medication, and it becomes downright terrifying. I’m not too scared of the shots, but my DH is a big baby when it comes to needles, blood, or anything of the sort, so I know it will be all me. Just hope I am brave enough and don’t mess it up, or do it wrong or something. However, I am still over the moon regarding your news today. So I am just keeping my eye on the prize and remembering exactly why we are doing all this. All will be worth it in the end when we get that BFP!!! Thanks for all your support!

Leave a Reply

