Just Call Him Doctor B!

We have officially completed not only one night, but two nights of injections now. And the best part, they were totally not as bad as I had made them out in my mind to be. What a huge relief! You should have seen us last night though…it was quite comical. I remembered everything the nurse had instructed us to do earlier in the day, but when you actually have to get out all the right materials from your HUGE box of fertility drugs, everything starts to look the same. After about 10 minutes of asking each other, “Wait, which one is the mixing needle, and where are the injection tips, and what is this even for…?” We finally got it together. Then, as if we weren’t totally already nervous about the task ahead… I totally pricked my finger with the mixing needle as I was trying to change it out with the injection needle. Have you ever seen the Kardashian episode where Kris is giving Kim an injection so that she can have her eggs frozen, and Kim totally freaks out as Kris is coming at her with the needle and she stabs her finger instead? Yeah, it was totally like that except I stabbed myself. Oops! Scott and I laughed about what total ameautures we were. Thanks goodness this was not a foreshadow to how the entire evening would go. I was pretty scared there for a minute wondering if and how were ever going to make it through even the first night of injections. After the finger prick episode though…piece of cake.

As I’ve mentioned before, Mr. B is scared to death of needles. Like gets all woozy and light headed and stuff. You mention a needle or blood to him and he shudders at the thought. So, knowing this about him, I had prepared myself for the past few months, knowing that I would be giving these shots alone. And I was totally okay with that. I knew I could handle it. Well, after 6 years of being together, my hubby still surprises me. I love that! He helped mix all the medication and then kept saying how he was going to have to give me the shot because I wouldn’t be able to get it in at the 90 degree angle like the nurse had instructed (which I totally could have). It was actually really cute and sweet. Anf he was so serious about it. I knew that it was one of the last things he would ever want to do…but he was doing it for me. He wanted to do it for me. There was something so pure and so tender about him tending to me. Wiping the injection site with alcohol first, then pinching my skin firmly but gently as he administered the shot. He kept asking, “Are you okay? Am I hurting you?” the entire time. If it was even possible to fall more in love with this man, I did. Right then and there.

In the end, even though I know I totally could have handled the injections myself, I’m glad I won’t have to. I’m thanful that Mr. B and I were able to experience that together. And even though I wouldn’t call it exactly a romantic Tuesday evening, there was something totally romantic about it all. It was something we were doing together, experiencing together, overcoming together, accomplishing together. And not just for us…but for our baby.

Family & Friends, please continue praying that my body will react and respond as it should to the medication. Also, please pray that I won’t experience any side effects (either now or later) to these meds. My next appointment will be on Saturday to check on my follicle growth, so please pray for good news and good signs at that appointment. Thanks so much for all your love, prayers & support. I can’t even tell you how much they mean to us!

~ xoxo, Mrs. B

5 thoughts on “Just Call Him Doctor B!

  1. Awww that was so sweet of him to do the shot for you!

    I’m glad to hear they aren’t all that bad! And they’ll just keep getting easier and easier I promise!

    Thinking of you and wishing you all the best of luck!

    • Thanks Katharine. It was really sweet of him! I love that man SO much! And thanks for thinking of us. I have been thinking of and praying for you everyday at least a dozen times. Eaxh time you pop into my head (which seems to be often) I go somewhere quiet, get on my knees, and say a prayer for you and that sticky bean of yours. Hoping your next beta brings only the best of news!

  2. I am 110% praying that things continue to go well and that this works perfectly for you! I love reading your post it made me realize that as much as IF sucks, we grow closer to our partners and learn new things about each other. What Scott did was so sweet and I’m so glad you two have each other. You WILL get your baby from this! Praying the side effects aren’t bad at all. *hugs*

    • Thanks Amber! Yes, Even though I thought this journey was tearing us apart in the beginning, I can see now how it is actually bringing us closer together. It is neat to watch us working together towards a common goal, encouraging, and picking one another up along the way. Many couples never experience this type of heartache that requires you to pull in even closer to one another in order to stay afloat. We will have that wit our partners. And I know without a doubt that if we can make it through this together…then we can make it through anything!

      Been thinking of you the past few days. Hope you are hanging in there and feeling a little more positive about your next step.

Leave a Reply

