Stubborn Ovaries…Just Like Their Mama!

Anyone that knows me knows that I am incredibly stubborn, almost to a fault. I guess that’s what happens when you are born mid-May and have a bull as your astrological sign. In most areas of my life, my stubborness is a characteristic trait that has boded well for me. I am super determined, relentless, driven, steadfast, practical, and I go after what I want. Well, after today’s appointment, I’ve finally come to the conclusion that my ovaries are stubborn and not into showing off, maybe even a little shy…just like their mama. I mean, come on, this is the time for my ovaries to shine. They are getting a pep talk every day, getting paparazzi style pictures taken of them every time I turn around, given daily medication to make them grow up big & strong, given vitamins and supplements that increase blood flow to them, getting a massage before and after injections…what more could they ask for?…they have never had so much attention in their life.ever! However, do they dance and prance around, showing off and performing for the crowd? Nope, not these ovaries. They are cowering in a corner being silently stubborn.

My monitoring appt today went good. Not great, but good. My follicles are making progress…it is just very slooowwwwly at this point. However, the best news about the whole appointment is that 2 more follies popped up since Tuesday’s appt. We have 7 now. Yippee!!! Sure, it’s not 20 or 30 like some women have. But it’s two more than I had on Tuesday…so I’ll take it! I’m pretty sure the other 2 were there all along, but at my last appointment the follicles were still so small, that Dr. K didn’t really look around all that much to see if there were any others hiding. Well today, he did all sorts of karate chop moves on my tummy to see if there were any hiding…and sure enough 2 more lil’ rugrats popped out to say hello. Although things are still looking really small for 7 days of stims, things are progressing and that makes me so relieved and thankful. Praise God we’re not going to cancel this cycle! Slow and steady wins the race, isn’t that the saying? That has quickly become my IVF mantra.

Here’s where we are right now (note: the follicles need to be between 18-20 mm before retrieval – so looks like we’re about halfway there):

Day       Date        Estradiol       Follie #     Right Size      Left Size             Lining
4            12/1              66.08                        5                  9, 7, 6              8, 7, 6                  6
7             12/4             302                            7                  11, 10, 9          10, 10, 9, 7          9.6

Dr. K wants me to increase my Menopur to 225 iu and keep my Gonal-F at 225 iu daily. This is 75 iu more than I have been taking so that should really kick things into gear (hopefully). The only bad thing about that is that we have to place yet another order from the pharmacy. The $750 order that just arrived today will only last us for 3 days at that rate. Yikes!!! Oh, well. I’m not going to let it bother me. It is what it is, and at this point I am just glad that there was enough progress seen to continue this cycle!

Thanks for all the prayers family & friends! Whatever you did over the past few days worked. Please continue to pray for the steady growth of our “7” follies and that they will all hold and produce a perfectly mature embryo. Also, pray that my dear husband doesn’t have a heart attack when I tell him we have to place another order from the pharmacy.

Now come on you stubborn ovaries, make your mama proud and get to growin’ over the next few days so we don’t go in the poor house…because you apparently need like a million days of super-expensive-liquid-gold-medication. Snooty much?!

5 thoughts on “Stubborn Ovaries…Just Like Their Mama!

  1. I am so glad that two more follies emerged and most of them are all close in size, so right now I am saying a prayer that they continue to ALL grow to the perfect size in order to be retrieved. I am keeping all hope alive that this cycle gives you everything you have ever dreamed of. Good luck!!! *hugs*

    • Thanks Amber! I was glad they are close in size too. Hopefully that means we can get them all mature at around the same time. Thanks for keeping hope alive. I am feeling much more hopeful after yesterday’s appt. Praying that this is the one and only time we will ever have to go through all this. Thanks for your support!

  2. Yayyyy for 2 more follicles! Love the description of your stubborn follies. You are so dang cute 🙂 Hang in there. They will grow big and strong for you I have no doubt!

Leave a Reply

