7 Weeks!

7 Weeks

I can’t even believe that we are 7 weeks today! The time has flown by. And the most exciting part…this is the furthest we have ever been in any of our prior pregnancies! Thanks to Baby Center, here’s what’s going on this week:

* The big news this week: Hands and feet are emerging from developing arms and legs — although they look more like paddles at this point than the tiny, pudgy extremities you’re daydreaming about holding and tickling. Technically, your baby is still considered an embryo and has something of a small tail, which is an extension of her tailbone. The tail will disappear within a few weeks, but that’s the only thing getting smaller. Your baby has doubled in size since last week and now measures half an inch long, about the size of a blueberry.

If you could see inside your womb, you’d spot eyelid folds partially covering her peepers, which already have some color, as well as the tip of her nose and tiny veins beneath parchment-thin skin. Both hemispheres of your baby’s brain are growing, and her liver is churning out red blood cells until her bone marrow forms and takes over this role. She also has an appendix and a pancreas, which will eventually produce the hormone insulin to aid in digestion. A loop in your baby’s growing intestines is bulging into her umbilical cord, which now has distinct blood vessels to carry oxygen and nutrients to and from her tiny body.

Your uterus has doubled in size in the past five weeks, and eating may feel like a chore — or worse — thanks to morning sickness, which by now may be in full swing. (If you’re feeling fine, don’t worry — you’re lucky!)

You may need to pee more than usual, too, thanks to your increasing blood volume and the extra fluid being processed through your kidneys. (By now, you already have about 10 percent more blood than you did before you were pregnant. And by the end of your pregnancy, you’ll have 40 to 45 percent more blood running through your veins to meet the demands of your full-term baby.) As your uterus grows, pressure on your bladder will send you to the bathroom as well.

About half of the women who feel nauseated during the first trimester will find complete relief by about 14 weeks. For most of the rest, it’ll take another month or so for the queasiness to ease up. It’s unlikely, though, that the need to pee more than usual will ease up. In fact, research shows that both the frequency and volume of urine tends to increase over the course of pregnancy.*

Amazing…everything that has already started to develop and grow at such a rapid rate! And since I want to keep this little space on the interweb as a journal of sorts to document this amazing journey, I have decided to keep a weekly tab of how I am feeling and how things are changing over the course of the pregnancy. I got this list of questions from Miss A over at When Not If.

How far along?  7 weeks.
Total weight gain:  1 lb (total bloat weight).
Maternity clothes? No, although the bloating makes it more comfortable to have my pants unbuttoned most of the time.
Stretch marks?  No.
Sleep:  YES! I can’t seem to EVER get enough!
Best moment this week:  When Scott and I talked about what our baby will look like!
Miss Anything?  Coffee!
Movement:  Not yet.
Food cravings:  Oatmeal. I am LOVING  hot oatmeal with nuts, raisins, cranberries, and some brown sugar lately. Have you ever had Starbucks oatmeal? It is to die for and I basically crave it for every meal!!!
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Thankfully, no! If I take my prenatals without food in my belly I feel queezy, but other than that, no morning sickness! I never had any with my daughter either though, so hoping it stays away this time too!
Gender prediction: My mom had a dream that we were having a boy before we were even pregnant…and she has weird dreams that sometimes come true…so I am going with boy.
Labor Signs:  Hopefully not for quite some time.
Symptoms:  Tired, sore boobs, and super bloated.
Belly Button in or out?  In.
Wedding rings on or off?  On.
Happy or Moody most of the time:  So happy!!! 
Looking forward to:  Our next ultrasound on 1/29.

9 thoughts on “7 Weeks!

  1. OMG! 7 weeks already! So exciting! Again, I’ve been checking my email like crazy hoping for a positive update from you! I’m so happy to see everything is going great! You give me hope 🙂

  2. Wow, your happiness is oozing off the page! Have you ever tried the New Chapter Organics Perfect Prenatals? They are great, because they’re made from whole foods and can be taken on an empty stomach any time of day. Check them out if aren’t happy with yours…unless you are on prescription prenatals or something. I love them and have never gotten sick from them on an empty stomach. Glad to see you so happy.

    • Thanks for the tip about the pre-natals, Emily. I totally just ordered some! My RE had recommended Naturally Smart Pre-natal, Folic acid, and DHA (they aren’t prescription but you can only order them from a specialty pharmacy). And since he recommended them, I didn’t even question them or look at other alternatives. I wanted to do EVERYTHING he said to do in order to get to our baby. However, they do NOT sit well with me on an empty tummy, plus they are $40 a bottle (for only 90 pills) and he was having me take 3 a day. That means $40 a month…which seems kinda steep now. Just ordered the ones you recommended on Amazon. They also recommend taking 3 a day, but are 270 ct for only $50.00. Those will last we way more than a month 🙂 Thanks for the tip!!!

      • $50 for 270 count is an awesome deal! I have paid anywhere from $90 to $115 for that size in my specialty pharmacy store!!! If you ordered the 270 count, you’ll probably get a free magazine subscription to Fit Pregnancy with it. Most of the 270 count boxes come a thing you can send of for it inside. I take the Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA along with this prenatal and extra folic acid. I hope you like them!

Leave a Reply

