Ultrasound #5 – 8 wks 6 days

Baby B 8 w5d

I feel so blessed to have been able to get so many sneak peaks of our lil’ bun in the oven. Today, at 8 weeks 6 days, we had ultrasound #5. My OB said that we have the most photographed baby ever. That made me smile :-). Everything looked great today. Baby was measuring 8 wks 5 days (so still a day behind) and the heartbeat was 180 bpm!!! Little bean was moving all around and moving it’s head from side to side. It was the cutest thing ever! If you look at the picture above, you can see the head on the left, body on the right, and even little legs and arms too. So amazing!!! Man, I love this kid so much already! Dr. A said that the heartbeat sounded like a girl. Apparently there’s an old wives tale that says that if the baby’s heartbeat is above 140 it’s a girl, and under 140 is a boy. Pretty certain I don’t believe this unscientific and unproved theory, but it was fun to hear! We don’t care either way. Boy, girl…whatever…all we want is a healthy baby!

Since I hadn’t seen my OB when I went in on Thursday for the emergency ultrasound due to spotting, we spent a lot of time discussing and looking for what could be the cause of the spotting. Since Thursday, the spotting hasn’t gotten better, but has actually become worse. What started out as light brown spotting showing up basically only when I wiped, has turned into dark brown spotting that will occasionally cause a panty liner change. I would be lying if I said that it hasn’t been freaking me out. Especially since it’s been getting heavier instead of subsiding or disappearing altogether. Well, today we found the cause of my anxiety this past week. I have a subchorionic hematoma, also known as a blood clot, that is on top of and to the right of the baby. You can see it in the picture above. See the grey pool to the right of the black sac? That is the blood clot. Dr. A said that blood clots are pretty common in early pregnancy and will often just resolve themselves, either by being absorbed back into the body or making it’s way out. Obviously mine has been making it’s way out. I was happy to finally have an answer as to why I have had so much spotting lately. And, as I do best, I have been researching subchorionic hematomas since this afternoon. It has actually been quite reassuring to read that as first trimester ultrasound imaging has become more routine, more doctors are detecting these early blood clots. Some studies have even observed blood clots in up to 48% of pregnancies, according to an article in the “Obstetrical and Gynecological Survey”. I sure wish I wasn’t in that 48% and that I could just go through this pregnancy without any spotting at all (wouldn’t that be a relief?), but that doesn’t seem to be my fate. And as long as it continues to not affect the baby or me negatively, I will suck it up, handle the spotting, and NOT freak out!

I was instructed to take it easy over the next couple weeks while the blood clot resolves itself. She didn’t put me on bed rest, but just said to take it easier than usual. She also told Scott that I may need to hand over my laundry and cleaning duties for the next couple of weeks. She winked at me as she said this. Have I mentioned how much I love her! I asked her if a blood clot could cause a miscarriage (my biggest fear). She said that although blood clots do increase chances of miscarriage, once you are 9 weeks and have a healthy heartbeat like ours, there is a very slim chance of that occurring. That made me feel better about the diagnosis.

Dr. A told me that I needed to try my best to relax and not worry about the spotting, as long as it stayed brown. She said that the only thing that I should allow to worry me right now is bright red spotting accompanied by cramps. I know I need to learn to relax more. I know I need to not freak out and immediately think the worst when I see the spotting getting heavier…but it is so hard! We joked that the first time I was pregnant, I was young and unmarried. All I was worried about at 9 weeks was how I was going to tell my parents. Oh to be young and so naive again! I want so badly to just enjoy this pregnancy. From this point on, that is what I plan to do. With my daughter, like I said, I was so young, and so scared. I felt like I never really got to enjoy being pregnant because I was terrified of all the details. How would I tell my family, how would I afford childcare, would I even be able to afford all the things the baby would need, would her dad and I make it, and if we didn’t, how would I ever meet and fall in love with a man as a young single mom?…there were so many fears, and before I knew it, the pregnancy was over…and I never even got to enjoy it. I don’t want that to happen this time. I won’t let that happen this time! I plan to enjoy every single moment of this pregnancy. Especially since I am pretty sure that this will be my last pregnancy. I don’t want to have a single regret or miss a single moment of joy. So, from this point on…from 9 weeks on…I am vowing not to allow fear to overrun or overshadow my joy and excitement for this baby and our future! I just won’t!

Family & Friends, please continue to pray for our little bean. Pray that he/she will continue to grow big and strong. Also pray that my blood clot will clear itself up and that it won’t cause any problems for the baby or I. Thanks you so much for your thoughts and prayers! They mean so much to all of us!

2 thoughts on “Ultrasound #5 – 8 wks 6 days

  1. What a beautiful baby pictures!! I am so glad everything is going well adn that the bleeding isn’t affecting the baby. Going to continue to pray the clot resolves itself soon without any effect to your beautiful sweet baby. Yay for things going so well!!!

Leave a Reply

