12 Weeks!

12 weeks!

Somebody pinch me! I can’t even believe we are at the 12 week mark. I could not be more thrilled about being sooo close to the second trimester. Although, I don’t want it to hurry up and get here because I am enjoying every.single.moment of finally being pregnant. This week my baby bump finally started to pop out, especially after I eat a meal or drink a big glass of water. My tummy has always been pretty flat, so I am definitely noticing a difference to the sudden roundness that has made an appearance. I love everything about the bump. I love that it means and reminds me that our baby is getting bigger. It suddenly feels more real when you can look down and see your body changing. A change that you have been waiting, hoping, and praying for…for years. I can’t wait for it to get bigger and bigger so that I actually look pregnant all the time, not like I may have had a Chipotle burrito (or two) for lunch.

Here’s what is going on this week according to Baby Center:

The most dramatic development this week: reflexes. Your baby’s fingers will so begin to open and close, his toes will curl, his eye muscles will clench, and his mouth will make sucking movements. In fact, if you prod your abdomen, your baby will squirm in response, although you won’t be able to feel it. His intestines, which have grown so fast that they protrude into the umbilical cord, will start to move into his abdominal cavity about now, and his kidneys will begin excreting urine into his bladder.

Meanwhile, nerve cells are multiplying rapidly, and in your baby’s brain, synapses are forming furiously. His face looks unquestionably human: His eyes have moved from the sides to the front of his head, and his ears are right where they should be. From crown to rump, your baby-to-be is just over 2 inches long (about the size of a lime) and weighs half an ounce.

 Your uterus has grown to the point where your healthcare provider can now feel the top of it (the fundus) low in your abdomen, just above your pubic bone. You may already be into maternity clothes, especially if this isn’t your first pregnancy. If you’re still fairly small and not yet ready for maternity clothes, you’ve no doubt noticed that your waist is thickening and that you’re more comfortable in loose, less restrictive clothing.

You may begin to feel heartburn (also called acid indigestion), a burning sensation that often extends from the bottom of your breastbone to your lower throat. Many women get heartburn for the first time during pregnancy, and those who’ve previously had bouts of heartburn may find that it gets worse. During pregnancy, the placenta produces a lot of the hormone progesterone, which relaxes the valve that separates the esophagus from the stomach. Particularly when you’re lying down, gastric acid can seep back up the pipe, which causes the uncomfortable burning sensation. For many women the problem doesn’t begin (or get worse) until later in pregnancy, when your growing uterus starts to push up on your stomach. The discomfort may range from mildly annoying to intense and distracting.

How far along?  12 weeks
Total weight gain:  2 lbs – starting to get a teeny tiny baby bump, especially after I eat.
Maternity clothes? No, although I am still wearing my pants unbuttoned.
Stretch marks?  No.
Sleep:  Starting to get a bit more energy back, but still feel pretty fatigued by the end of the day. I have also been having crazy and vivid dreams the past week.
Best moment this week:  Laying in bed with Mr. B and talking about baby names.
Miss Anything? Nothing this week.
Movement:  Not yet.
Food cravings:  Soup and grilled cheese! YUM!
Anything making you queasy or sick:  No.
Gender prediction: I have so many ideas floating around in my head for a nursery. And although I am excited about both my design ideas for boy vs. girl, I am a little more excited about the little girl nursery I have dreamed up. So, we’ll go with girl this week.
Labor Signs:  Nope.
Symptoms:  Still tired, gassy, and crazy sensitive nipples.
Belly Button in or out?  In
Wedding rings on or off?  On.
Happy or Moody most of the time: So undeniably happy!
Looking forward to: I just booked our gender ultrasound for Friday, March 8th. Eekkk…that is only a couple weeks away! I am so excited to find out what this precious baby of ours will be ~ a baby boy or a baby girl. Also, soooo excited that my friend and photographer, Jessica is going to do a gender reveal photo shoot for us a couple days after.

6 thoughts on “12 Weeks!

    • Brandy, my OB also won’t do one until 20 weeks, but we are going to an outside 2D/3D/4D ultrasound place that will do them starting at 14 weeks. It is only $35 and they guarantee that the gender prediction is accurate or you get your money back. They actually said that they have 100% accuracy, because they won’t say unless they are 100% sure. If it still seems to early, or if they can’t get a good pic, they will have you come back the following week for another ultrasound, for no additional charge. The one I found is only 10 min from my home. If anything, I am just excited to get an additional peek at our baby!

  1. What an exciting post! I love the picture of you. You look fabulous! Can’t wait to hear what the sex of the baby is. I’m predicting GIRL! :)) Much love to you!

Leave a Reply

