16 Weeks!

16 weeks!

(Sorry, I’m a little behind on my documenting. I’ll be 17 weeks on Wednesday, but this pic is from 16 weeks. Yay for a tiny bump!!!)

Eekkk…16 Weeks! I can’t even believe it. I honestly didn’t know if I’d ever be 16 weeks pregnant, but here we are. And I am smiling from ear to ear every.single.day!

Here is what is going on this week according to Baby Center:

Get ready for a growth spurt. In the next few weeks, your baby will double his weight and add inches to his length. Right now, he’s about the size of an avocado: 4 1/2 inches long (head to rump) and 3 1/2 ounces. His legs are much more developed, his head is more erect than it has been, and his eyes have moved closer to the front of his head. His ears are close to their final position, too. The patterning of his scalp has begun, though his locks aren’t recognizable yet. He’s even started growing toenails. And there’s a lot happening inside as well. For example, his heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day, and this amount will continue to increase as your baby continues to develop.

How your life’s changing:

The top of your uterus is about halfway between your pubic bone and your navel, and the round ligaments that support it are thickening and stretching as it grows. You’re probably feeling a whole lot better as you settle into pregnancy, too. Less nausea, fewer mood swings, and “glowing” skin contribute to an overall sense of well-being.

Soon you’ll experience one of the most wonderful moments of pregnancy — feeling your baby move. While some women notice “quickening” as early as 16 weeks, many don’t feel their baby move until about 18 weeks or more. (And if this is your first baby, don’t be too impatient — you may not be aware of your baby’s movements until 20 weeks or so.) The earliest movements may feel like little flutters, gas bubbles, or even like popcorn popping. Over the following weeks they’ll grow stronger and you’ll be able to feel them much more frequently.

How far along?  16 weeks
Total weight gain:  4 lbs
Maternity clothes? I am still pretty much in my normal clothes. Although I love to wear the 2 maternity shirts I own (one of which I am wearing above). They really accentuate the tiny bump that has started to pop out, and I am all for that!!!
Stretch marks?  No.
Sleep:  I am sleeping great when I am not getitng up to use the restroom. I usually have to get up to pee once or twice throughout the night.
Best moment this week: We finally picked out (and agreed upon) the colors/design for the nursery. I have been going crazy trying to settle on the perfect room. The problem was, I had so many different ideas and couldn’t settle on or pick just one. I’ve been chalking it up to pregnancy induced indecisiveness. Eh, who am I kidding, I am always indecisive! Or maybe it’s because when Bella was a baby, her and I shared a room, so I never really got to design and put together an entire nursery. I am loving every minute of it!!! Especially now since I have finally figured out the direction to take it in!
Miss Anything? Cold lunchmeat. They say not to eat cold lunchmeat when pregnant because of the bacteria it can carry, and expectant women should heat it up or cook it before consuming it. I have done that a few times, but let me tell you, it is no where near as satisfying as a cold turkey and cheese sandwich. Some people (most) say it’s crazy to listen to the “newest thing” pregnant women can’t eat, or the “newest thing” that will give you cancer, and MANY tell me they ate lunchmeat all throughout their pregnancy. I did too when I was pregnant 11 years ago. However, if the doctor tells me to stay away from it, that is exactly what I plan to do. Apparently the risk is super slim that anything would come from eating said lunchmeat (like a 1% or less chance), however, if you remember, I was the one that had 3 miscarriages followed by an ectopic pregnancy. The chances of that happening are about a 1% or less chance as well. So for me, statistics don’t carry much weight with. I am not taking any chances with this miracle baby of mine. And if that means staying away from cold lunchmeat for 9 months, then so be it!
Movement:  Feeling spurts of movement here and there, but nothing consistent. I really think it has to be the position she is in for the day. Some days I feel lots of movement and other days none at all (on those days you better believe I am listening to her heartbeat on our home doppler though. Calms my fears every single time).
Food cravings:  Mongolian BBQ. Can’t get enough!!!
Anything making you queasy or sick:  No.
Gender prediction: Girl, according to our elective gender ultrasound at 14 wks!!! We will get confirmation of this week at our Anatomy Scan ultrasound.
Labor Signs:  Nope.
Symptoms: A few headaches this week.
Belly Button in or out?  In.
Wedding rings on or off?  On.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Over the moon happy!
Looking forward to: Anatomy scan on Thursday, 3/28.

2 thoughts on “16 Weeks!

  1. Cute pic! Glad you are enjoying showing off your little bump.

    As for the lunchmeat, I tend to agree with a lot of the research showing some of the ingredients cause cancer… nitrates and nitrites. You are safe if you buy organic brands like Applegate Farms or at least all natural/nitrate free brands like some from Boar’s Head. You can ask the deli person for a list of their nitrate free meats, and they should be very familiar with them. Definitely avoid nitrates while pregnant! It’s crazy how much stuff has nitrate/nitrite in it. Blech.

    I know it probably sounds weird, but I like to make wraps for lunch with heated lunch meat and sauteed onions and red peppers. I saute the red onions and red peppers in a skillet, then add some organic roasted turkey and organic cheese on top until melted. Then load the huge pile into a large tortilla with greens and tomatoes. YummY! Congrats on yet another milestone for you!

Leave a Reply

