Happy Easter!

Family Easter 2013

I just wanted to wish everyone a very Happy Easter! We spent Easter day with my Dad in the rehab center. He has been in the hospital for the past 2 months after undergoing major brain surgery for cancer. It’s been a long hard road to recovery, and there were a few times over the past few months where we thought that we would lose him. It was and still is a thought that is unbearable to fathom. My daddy is my world and I love him so very much! Even though someday I know that I will have to, I can’t imagine going through this life without him. I’m so thankful that God has given us more time with him. And although I don’t know how much time that is (they were not able to remove all of the cancer), I am thankful for each and every day we have together from here on out. This year we didn’t attend sunrise service together, have a traditional Easter dinner, open baskets, or even have an egg hunt…but we laughed, told stories, ate pie, and were all together. What a perfect blessing of a day! Thank you Jesus! Happy Easter from my family to yours.

2 thoughts on “Happy Easter!

  1. Happy Easter a little late. I am so sorry to hear your family is traveling this path right now. I have been there. My dad had a bone marrow transplant, suffered from MDS and also cancer, and was in treatment for 7 years before he passed away. It is never easy, but you are right to be grateful for the time you have with him. It’s never ever easy to watch someone you love go through pain and suffering, but as hard as it is, it gives you time to have the talks, to ask the questions, and to let that person know how very much you love them. If you ask another person who has lost someone much more suddenly, most all of them would say they’ve give anything in the world to have more time to do those things with the one they loved. I will be praying for a miracle for your father and for peace for your entire family. (((HUGS)))

    • Thanks so much for your kind and wise words, Emily! I am so sorry that you lost your Father to this awful disease. I also lost my Uncle to cancer a few years ago, and it was a very long and tough road. Right now we are just focusing on trying to get Dad home from the rehab facility and then we will decide what the next course of action will or will not be. And yes, I am very grateful for the time we have together now. Even though it is hard to see him in this state, at least we still get to laugh, tell stories, hope and dream together. Hoping for a miracle as well. As always, thanks for all your support 🙂

Leave a Reply

