25 Weeks!

25 weeks!

25 weeks! With each week that passes, it feels less like a dream and more like reality. I still can’t believe I am here, posting a pic of my 25 week baby bump. Pinch me now!!! Here is what is going in this week according to Baby Center:

How your baby’s growing

Head to heels, your baby now measures about 13 1/2 inches. Her weight — a pound and a half — isn’t much more than an average rutabaga, but she’s beginning to exchange her long, lean look for some baby fat. As she does, her wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out and she’ll start to look more and more like a newborn. She’s also growing more hair — and if you could see it, you’d now be able to discern its color and texture.

How your life’s changing

Your baby’s not the only one with more hair — your locks may look more full and lustrous than ever. It’s not that you’re growing more hair, but thanks to hormonal changes, the hair that you’d normally shed is sticking around longer than usual. Enjoy the fullness while you can — the extra hair will fall out after you give birth.

You may also notice that you can’t move around as gracefully as before. Unless your caregiver has advised you otherwise, it’s fine to continue to exercise, but follow a few safety rules: Don’t work out when you’re feeling overly tired and stop if you feel any pain, dizziness, or shortness of breath. Don’t lie flat on your back and avoid contact sports as well as any exercise where you’re apt to lose your balance. Be sure to drink plenty of water and make time for warm up and cool down periods.

How far along?  25 weeks
Total weight gain:  14 lbs. I haven’t gained anything since last week. Maybe it was because I gained 2 lbs the week before and baby girl decided to tame down her growth spurt for a week, or maybe it was because we were doing yard work practically all weekend and I was sweating to death in the 90 degree heat. 6 and a half months pregnant and gardening in the summer heat, is not my idea of a good time. Although the yard is looking fabulous and ready for lots of summer get-togethers, so it will be worth it! We need to do some finishing touches and then I’ll show you a pic of where I will be enjoying my summer days. My doc said that I should be gaining .5 lbs/wk, however, since I gained 2 last week, I am not going to worry about not gaining anything this week.
Maternity clothes? Yes! Although, I went shopping at Nordstrom Rack last week to spend a birthday gift card that my mother in-law (thanks Cindy) gave me for my birthday and loved all the tunic, bohemian, flowy style tops that are out right now. They are great because they work for maternity as well as after (maybe belted). I am wearing one of my purchases in this weeks pic. I love the color combo and Aztec style print. I am also wearing regular non-maternity pants with a belly band. So, although I love the comfort of maternity, I am still finding myself finding plenty of non-maternity to wear!
Stretch marks?  No. However, I am starting to check daily now and applying lots of lotion. Although, I’ve heard that doesn’t necessarily keep them at bay since they are hereditary and you will either get them or not. I never got any with my daughter, so hoping for the same this time. Although with my daughter, I only gained 16 lbs the entire pregnancy, which I am well on my way to passing up! Only time will tell.
Sleep:  I slept great this week. Especially with the 3 day holiday weekend. I think the earliest I woke up on those 3 days was 9 am. It was heavenly!!!
Best moment this week: Getting the crib put together and decorated. I find myself just walking into the room and staring at it, not really believing that within a few months, our precious daughter will be in there staring back at me. It seems so surreal at times!
Miss Anything? Nothing at all! 
Movement:  Yes! Her movements are getting so strong now that I can actually see my whole belly move in wave like motions at times. So crazy!!!
Food cravings:  Still loving fruit, popsicles and milk (chocolate and regular)! Although, I have been craving a snickers bar for the past 4 days (weird because I never crave candy or have much of a sweet tooth at all). I might just give in and get myself one of those while at the store this afternoon.  
Anything making you queasy or sick:  No.
Gender prediction: It’s a girl!
Labor Signs:  Nope. Hopefully not for at least 13 more weeks!!!
Symptoms: Round ligament pain, spider veins, and varicose veins.
Belly Button in or out?  In.
Wedding rings on or off?  On.
Happy or Moody most of the time: So happy!!!
Looking forward to: We have an apt on Thursday with our OB and then another on the 3rd with the Perinatologist. Looking forward to getting another sneak peek at baby girl! Also, looking forward to getting the rest of the nursery decorated. My mom and her boyfriend are going to come into town the weekend of 6/13 to help get everything finished. I’ll be sure to post pics when it’s all finished and ready for Baby B!

One thought on “25 Weeks!

Leave a Reply

