The Name Game

We are slackers! That’s right…we STILL haven’t come up with a name for baby girl yet. And believe me, it’s NOT for a lack of trying! I feel like that’s all we talk about or do anymore…listen for other people’s kids names, look at baby name sites, read baby name books, look at our name list, revise our name list, rearrange our name list, add to it, take away from it, etc. It’s becoming a full time job, I tell ya! And a frustrating one at that. It even got to the point last week where Mr. B said that the name was now entirely up to me and just let him know what it is going to be. I think he is a little fed up with this carousel of names that we are on…and I couldn’t agree more. It has gotten to the point that I think we are trying and thinking too hard about it and just confusing ourselves even more. Or then I end up thinking that if we aren’t settled or sure on any of the names we have yet, maybe we haven’t even found it and need to keep looking. Because don’t you think you just KNOW when you find the name? I told you we were confusing ourselves. I never knew it would be so incredibly hard to pick out a name for our baby girl. And man…she can hear us now. I SO want to be calling her by name, not to mention the long list of personalized goods I have ready to order from Etsy once we finally decide on one. However, I think I’ve finally figured out what our problem is. Besides that fact that my issue is I love too many names and the fact that Mr. B is a lot pickier than I am, Scott said something the other day that hit the nail on the head as to why we are having such difficulty.

After finding out about the Vasa Previa diagnosis, he said, “After everything we have been through and are continuing to go through for this baby, we better have an extra special name picked out for her.” And that was it. It was like a light bulb went off. That is why we are having such a hard time picking her name. I mean, don’t get me wrong, we have tons of names on our list that we like…they are adorable, and cute, and I can totally picture us having a little girl named any of them…we just don’t know if any of them are “The One”. And I don’t blame us one bit.  After all the praying, hoping, planning, and roller coaster riding it has taken us to get here, I just don’t feel like any old name will do. And because of that, I am frozen. Frozen liking a bunch of names, but just feeling like they are too typical, or usual, or normal, or not special enough, or don’t have enough meaning for our extra special miracle of a baby.

We weren’t going to share her name with anyone (expect our parents of course) before she was born, but because I want this to be a journal of everything we have gone through to bring baby b into our lives, and hopefully something that she can someday read and know just how much we loved her and wanted her, even before she was born, I am going to share the names that as of right now are on our maybe list. And please note, this list used to be about 40 names long…so the shortened list below is at least progress! Maybe her name is on this list, maybe not. Whether we will pick a name from this list, or come up with something entirely different by the time she arrives, I have no idea. I just know that I’m not quite sure if we have found “The One” yet. At the rate we are going, and the recent news that baby girl may be arriving a lot earlier than expected, hopefully baby girl will at least have a name by the time we bring her home from the hospital!

Here are our favorite names for baby b (as of this week):

London Love

Brooklyn Bailey

Bristol Bailey

McKinley (“Kinley”) Scotland

Harper Scotland

Ellie Harper

Savannah Rae

Tenley Rae

And just for fun…here are some others that have been on the list at one point or another. Who knows, maybe we will go back to one of these?

Beckett – I LOVE this one but Mr. B is afraid it sounds too much like a boy. Especially since he saw it on the “Boy” side on BabyCenter. Thanks a lot BBC! This is still one of my faves!

Dakota

Piper – I love this one but Mr. B vetoed it. He said, “Now you’re just getting weird”. That made me laugh 🙂

Charlotte (“Charlie”) – If we didn’t have a dog named Charlie, I think this would be it. I just love the name Charlie for a little girl!

Chloe

Berkley

Olivia

Ugh…see why we are so confused? Feel free to weigh in!

6 thoughts on “The Name Game

  1. Your problem is all of your names are too freaking cute!!!! You can’t go wrong with any of them. I know what you mean about trying to pick one, it is hard! I think we have though, hope to share soon.

  2. I have been following your journey and just wanted to chime in on the name game! We are currently in the IVF process and like you, not just any name will do. For that reason, I would avoid trendy names that are likely just a fad for now. What if you went the route of a name like “Karis”, which means Grace in Greek, “Makana” is GIFT in Hawaiian, “Anya” (On-ya) mean Gift, “Amaris” means God has Promised, “Myra & Evelyn” both mean Wished For Child. Then there are fun names like “Aven” which means radiant, Can’t wait to see what you choose!

    • Thanks so much for your input Carrie. Glad you know how it feels to think that any old name just won’t do. I love the idea of giving her a name that has meaning. Something that shows the Lord and others how appreciative and how wanted this baby girl of ours is. Just haven’t found one that we both really like. Although, you have a couple cute ones you listed :-). The one we have contemplated using for a middle name is “Rain” which means abundant blessing from above. And we definitely know this little one is the biggest blessing we will ever receive! Good luck with your IVF! Are you currently cycling, or getting ready to? I’ll keep you and your journey in my thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

