32 weeks!

32 weeks

Still trying to get caught up and back on track with these weekly bump pics. I am currently 33 weeks, but here is my update from 32 weeks.

By now, your baby weighs 3 3/4 pounds (about the size of a large jicama) and is about 16.7 inches long, taking up a lot of space in your uterus. You’re gaining about a pound a week and roughly half of that goes right to your baby. In fact, she’ll gain a third to half of her birth weight during the next 7 weeks as she fattens up for survival outside the womb. She now has toenails, fingernails, and real hair (or at least respectable peach fuzz). Her skin is becoming soft and smooth as she plumps up in preparation for birth.

How your life’s changing:

To accommodate you and your baby’s growing needs, your blood volume has increased 40 to 50 percent since you got pregnant. With your uterus pushing up near your diaphragm and crowding your stomach, the consequences may be shortness of breath and heartburn. To help relieve your discomfort, try sleeping propped up with pillows and eating smaller meals more often.

You may have lower-back pain as your pregnancy advances.

Assuming it’s not preterm labor that’s ailing you, you can probably blame your growing uterus and hormonal changes for your aching back. Your expanding uterus shifts your center of gravity and stretches out and weakens your abdominal muscles, changing your posture and putting a strain on your back. Hormonal changes in pregnancy loosen your joints and the ligaments that attach your pelvic bones to your spine. This can make you feel less stable and cause pain when you walk, stand, sit for long periods, roll over in bed, get out of a low chair or the tub, bend, or lift things.

How far along?  32 weeks
Total weight gain:  17.5 lbs
Maternity clothes? Since I am on bed rest, I have mostly been wearing yoga pants and pj’s around most of the day.
Stretch marks?  No.
Sleep:  Been getting so much sleep this week, almost too much. I think my body will go into shock with a newborn when I no longer am getting 10-12 hours of sleep a night.
Best moment this week: We got our c-section date scheduled, for 8/6 (the day before my son’s birthday – I will be 35 wks 6 days). It was a nice surprise since I thought they wouldn’t le me go past 35 weeks. Instead, they scheduled it a day before I turn 36 weeks. Woo Hoo! Baby girls gets to cook for a whole 6 days more!!! I also found out that my OB who I LOVE and has been through everything with me (miscarriages, surgeries, infertility) will be the one delivering us! And if you know anything about Kaiser, this is hardly ever the case, and a true blessing! You usually just get whatever MD is on call that day for the delivery. My awesome OB put in a special request in order to be the one who delivers for us. It feels good to have a plan!
Miss Anything? Yes! Cleaning my house, cooking, shopping, pretty much everything that doesn’t included being confined to the couch!
Movement:  Lots of constant, daily movement!
Food cravings: I can’t get enough fruit this entire pregnancy…but it’s been a really strong craving this week. Maybe because it’s been so hot and it is super easy to snack on while lying on the couch. I’ve also been eating a high protein diet in order to hopefully pack on the baby pounds before she arrives in a few short weeks. My goal is to get her to 5 pounds by her birth.
Anything making you queasy or sick:  No. 
Gender prediction: Baby girl!
Labor Signs:  Nope.
Symptoms: Round ligament pain, spider veins, varicose veins, shortness of breath, rib pain, back & leg pain (from lying around).
Belly Button in or out?  Pretty flat.
Wedding rings on or off?  Officially off this week. The hot weather and inactivity has me retaining a bit of water now.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, bored, excited, and SUPER nervous!
Looking forward to: NST appt on Monday. They will do a fluid check at this appt, so I will get to see baby girl on the big screen 🙂

3 thoughts on “32 weeks!

  1. You have kaiser too!? I go to the Fontana kaiser for all of my fertity stuff. My doctor is Huffman who is nice, but I rarely see her. I usually see Sumira Kemp.

    • Samantha, I do have Kaiser! I go to either the Corona or the Riverside location. Dr. Lewis is my OB at Corona and Dr. Montgomery is the high risk perinatologist I see at Riverside. I have been really pleases with the level of attention and care I have received there throughout my entire pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

